You cart is empty

Neoclassical Sonata N° 4 in a

Composer: Hartwig Riedl

Instrument: Alto Recorder and Piano

Level: Intermediate

Published: 2024

Price: €25.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration:22-23 min.

      Six Neoclassical Sonatas

      The origin of these six sonatas goes back to March 2020, the outbreak of covid, the overall character of these sonatas could be described as “epic”. “Epic” in so far as the first and last movement of these sonatas do not develop motives or themes dynamically, full of conflict and drama and so are aiming at an impressive conclusion (though much care has been given to creating memorable codas for all movements). They resemble rather voyages through a gentle, rolling countryside where the travel itself is the “destination”, bare of extremes, but rewarding through their many colourful variations and rediscoveries.

      Sonata N° 4 in a

      Within this cycle of six sonatas, N° 4 with its five movements may be regarded as the most substantial one, not only for its length but also for its emotional content.The beginning of I. Andante - Moderatois set in archaic pure minor, the dramatic coda confronts descending and ascending scales, but ends in a "whimper”. II. Andante with its gentle theme in C-Major starts as a pure duet whose repetition then is fully harmonized as a trio. With III. Siciliano do we return to the recorder's home key and pastoral spheres. But the middle section, starting surly in A-Minor, is harmonically extremely dense and conveys an uncanny shifting between minor and major keys. IV. Intermezzo has a shade of other-wordly bliss about it because of its pure harmonies. In V. Finale the sonata reaches the realm of so many classical dynamic interpretations of A-Minor: a lively beat (12/8) and a resolute syncopal accompaniment in the piano. Two largo bars close the sonata in reconciliatory A-Major.

      Hartwig Riedl

  • Instrumentation +
    • Alto Recorder and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Hartwig Riedl was born in Hamburg in 1940. In his youth he received piano and violin lessons and composed several chamber music pieces and a parodic cantata.

      In addition to his job as a high school teacher for foreign languages, he has always dealt intensively with music, playing as a violist in various ensembles in Hamburg. His compositions now comprise, among others, two cycles for soprano and piano, two suites for string orchestra, three pieces for larger symphonic orchestra and most recently a set of six sonatas for alto recorder and piano.

  • Credits +
    • With support from Koda’s Cultural Funds
      Front Cover graphics: Beate Riedl & Nicola Lee
      Engraving: Thomas M. J. Schäfer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER