You cart is empty

Neoclassical Sonata N° 3 in c

Composer: Hartwig Riedl

Instrument: Alto Recorder and Piano

Level: Intermediate

Published: 2024

Price: €25.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 20-21 min.

      Six Neoclassical Sonatas

      The origin of these six sonatas goes back to March 2020, the outbreak of covid, the overall character of these sonatas could be described as “epic”. “Epic” in so far as the first and last movement of these sonatas do not develop motives or themes dynamically, full of conflict and drama and so are aiming at an impressive conclusion (though much care has been given to creating memorable codas for all movements). They resemble rather voyages through a gentle, rolling countryside where the travel itself is the “destination”, bare of extremes, but rewarding through their many colourful variations and rediscoveries.

      Sonata N° 3 in c

      The three opening chords of I. Largo - Moderato echo the closing chords of the preceding sonata and introduce a melancholic introduction – as befits a piece in this dark-hued key. The ensuing Moderato part then surprises with a lively, cheerful section – to put it metaphorically: morning mist has risen and has given way to a sunny day represented by an ascending, light-hearted theme. The intimate, meditative II. Nachtlied (Nightsong) is a challenge for the flutist's breath control and demands utmost delicacy from the pianist. It is a piece about doubt, insecurity, introspection and consolation. The final Largissimo, un poco forte is constituent for a positive conclusion. III. Siciliano comes as a cheerful relief from the preceding movement; only the piano seems again and again sick of mimicking a lively brook in this pastoral idyll. Formally the beginning of IV. Finale echoes the first movement. The coda is set in powerful C-Minor. The "iconic" three chords conclude this sonata in soothing (not more than mezzoforte!) C-Major.

      Hartwig Riedl

  • Instrumentation +
    • Alto Recorder and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Hartwig Riedl was born in Hamburg in 1940. In his youth he received piano and violin lessons and composed several chamber music pieces and a parodic cantata.

      In addition to his job as a high school teacher for foreign languages, he has always dealt intensively with music, playing as a violist in various ensembles in Hamburg. His compositions now comprise, among others, two cycles for soprano and piano, two suites for string orchestra, three pieces for larger symphonic orchestra and most recently a set of six sonatas for alto recorder and piano.

  • Credits +
    • With support from Koda’s Cultural Funds
      Front Cover graphics: Beate Riedl & Nicola Lee
      Engraving: Thomas M. J. Schäfer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER