You cart is empty

Neoclassical Sonata N° 2 in d

Composer: Hartwig Riedl

Instrument: Alto Recorder and Piano

Level: Intermediate

Published: 2024

Price: €25.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 12-13 min.

      Six Neoclassical Sonatas

      The origin of these six sonatas goes back to March 2020, the outbreak of covid, the overall character of these sonatas could be described as “epic”. “Epic” in so far as the first and last movement of these sonatas do not develop motives or themes dynamically, full of conflict and drama and so are aiming at an impressive conclusion (though much care has been given to creating memorable codas for all movements). They resemble rather voyages through a gentle, rolling countryside where the travel itself is the “destination”, bare of extremes, but rewarding through their many colourful variations and rediscoveries.

      Sonata N° 2 in d

      Set in sober D-Minor, I. Allegro starts with a resolute marching theme, whose short extension into its major (!) subdominant adds a slightly archaic modal connotation. As an answer, the recorder repeats the marching theme in a dotted rhythm thus interpreting it more positively. Follows a repetition of the gruff interjection plus another one joined by the recorder. II. Andante in sweet B major is literally taken from the Latin pop-cantata "Copa Surisca". The recorder introduces the melody and when the piano's right hand begins, it enters a lively counterpoint. III. Siciliano starts with an introductory quite fluent Andante, the B section is a variant in C-Minor which only slightly tinges the general cheerfulness. With IV. Allegretto do we return to D-Minor. The theme consists of nervously insisting ascending repetitions of the recorder, countered by a descending line of thirds in the piano, this line is harmonized in the traditional Spanish "Flamenco-way".

      Hartwig Riedl

  • Instrumentation +
    • Alto Recorder and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Hartwig Riedl was born in Hamburg in 1940. In his youth he received piano and violin lessons and composed several chamber music pieces and a parodic cantata.

      In addition to his job as a high school teacher for foreign languages, he has always dealt intensively with music, playing as a violist in various ensembles in Hamburg. His compositions now comprise, among others, two cycles for soprano and piano, two suites for string orchestra, three pieces for larger symphonic orchestra and most recently a set of six sonatas for alto recorder and piano.

  • Credits +
    • With support from Koda’s Cultural Funds
      Front Cover graphics: Beate Riedl & Nicola Lee
      Engraving: Thomas M. J. Schäfer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER