You cart is empty

Neoclassical Sonata N° 6 in C

Composer: Hartwig Riedl

Instrument: Alto Recorder and Piano

Level: Intermediate

Published: 2024

Price: €25.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration:18-19 min.

      Six Neoclassical Sonatas

      The origin of these six sonatas goes back to March 2020, the outbreak of covid, the overall character of these sonatas could be described as “epic”. “Epic” in so far as the first and last movement of these sonatas do not develop motives or themes dynamically, full of conflict and drama and so are aiming at an impressive conclusion (though much care has been given to creating memorable codas for all movements). They resemble rather voyages through a gentle, rolling countryside where the travel itself is the “destination”, bare of extremes, but rewarding through their many colourful variations and rediscoveries.

      Sonata N° 6 in C

      Closing this set of six, this last sonata carries the burden of being of a certain concluding substance: in fact, it took me a long time to write it. The choice of C-Major for I. Largo - Moderato is self-explaining as a reference to the same key in Sonata N° 1. In its course we travel through various related harmonies in both major and minor. The coda in dark C-Minor comes as the typical closing return of the A section in baroque overtures. A total change of scene is II. Cantabile, a gentle reminder of my first public "success", when – 18 of years at the time –  I composed a parodist Latin cantata for my class at school. The middle section, though, is recent and is meant to be a tender flirting of the two instruments. I decided to make III. Siciliano into a loving, slightly teasing fingering exercise for my wife, which she greatly enjoys. IV. Finale expresses simple joy of life with a return to the key of love in its centre – naturally in a more sentimental mood.

      Hartwig Riedl

  • Instrumentation +
    • Alto Recorder and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Hartwig Riedl was born in Hamburg in 1940. In his youth he received piano and violin lessons and composed several chamber music pieces and a parodic cantata.

      In addition to his job as a high school teacher for foreign languages, he has always dealt intensively with music, playing as a violist in various ensembles in Hamburg. His compositions now comprise, among others, two cycles for soprano and piano, two suites for string orchestra, three pieces for larger symphonic orchestra and most recently a set of six sonatas for alto recorder and piano.

  • Credits +
    • With support from Koda’s Cultural Funds
      Front Cover graphics: Beate Riedl & Nicola
      Lee Engraving: Thomas M. J. Schäfer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER