You cart is empty

Neoclassical Sonata N° 5 in Eb

Composer: Hartwig Riedl

Instrument: Alto Recorder and Piano

Level: Intermediate

Published: 2024

Price: €25.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 19-20 min.

      Six Neoclassical Sonatas

      The origin of these six sonatas goes back to March 2020, the outbreak of covid, the overall character of these sonatas could be described as “epic”. “Epic” in so far as the first and last movement of these sonatas do not develop motives or themes dynamically, full of conflict and drama and so are aiming at an impressive conclusion (though much care has been given to creating memorable codas for all movements). They resemble rather voyages through a gentle, rolling countryside where the travel itself is the “destination”, bare of extremes, but rewarding through their many colourful variations and rediscoveries.

      Sonata N° 5 in Eb

      With this sonata's key we enter the sweet realm of Eb-Major, the traditional "key of love". Accordingly I. Moderato's name-giving tempo demands a gentle, never speedy flow of its counterpoint between triplets and duplets. The coda is one of my favourites when the music labours through heavier harmonic clusters only to end in triumphal, pure Eb. II. Andante comes as a contrast with its sobering C-Major, square motifs and even a cheeky middle section which is promptly called to order by a stern passage in G-Minor. Set in friendly F-Major III. Siciliano is meant to delight by its charming, slightly mocking simplicity. IV. Finale begins as a benign pure duet of the upper voices; to be then harmonically completed by the bass line. This bliss of pure Eb-Major is abruptly contrasted by a grumpy C-Minor motif which, in a dense sequence, is brought back to the original key. The coda comes as a surprise. A complex 6/8 against 12/16 metre in vivace-16th through Alpine harmonic changes serves as a brilliant final fireworks.

      Hartwig Riedl

  • Instrumentation +
    • Alto Recorder and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Hartwig Riedl was born in Hamburg in 1940. In his youth he received piano and violin lessons and composed several chamber music pieces and a parodic cantata.

      In addition to his job as a high school teacher for foreign languages, he has always dealt intensively with music, playing as a violist in various ensembles in Hamburg. His compositions now comprise, among others, two cycles for soprano and piano, two suites for string orchestra, three pieces for larger symphonic orchestra and most recently a set of six sonatas for alto recorder and piano.

  • Credits +
    • With support from Koda’s Cultural Funds
      Front Cover graphics: Beate Riedl & Nicola Lee
      Engraving: Thomas M. J. Schäfer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER