You cart is empty

Three Poems

Composer: Jon Laukvik

Instrument: Choir and Organ

Level: Advanced

Published: 2013

Price: €30.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 12 min.

      As my Passacaglia for organ (Edition Svitzer, 2012), these three movements with text by George Herbert are a reflection, i.e. a glance back into the history of music. 

      George Herbert was born on April 3, 1593 into an influential and wealthy Welsh family. He studied theology and philosophy at Trinity College in Cambridge and was for a short period Member of Parliament (1624-25). In 1630 he was ordained a priest and until the end of his life he was rector of a small parish outside of Salisbury. He died on March 1, 1633. Herbert’s poetic work is mostly of religious nature. Alongside John Donne and Andrew Marvell George Herbert is considered one of the most important of the „Metaphysical Poets“. 

      Concerning movement II, Praise: In the famous hymn based on this poem, the text Thou grew’st soft and moist with tears, thou relentedst: And when justice called for fears, thou dissentedst is missing. 

      An adequate accompanying organ should have three manuals and a Swell department. 

      The three movements can of course also be performed separately.  

      I warmly thank the Nidaros Cathedral Boys’ Choir and their conductor Bjørn Moe and Erling With Aasgård for commissioning the work. I thank David Titterington and Gerard Brooks cordially for calling my attention to the poems of the „Metaphysical Poets“. Thanks also to the Norwegian Composer’s Fund for financial support.

      Coro SSAATTBB Org

      Choral Score:
      1 - 19 copies: 10 € (unit price)
      20 - 49 copies: 8 € (unit price)
      50+ copies: 6 € (unit price)

  • Instrumentation +
    • Choir and Organ

  • Watch+
  • About the composer +
    • Jon Laukvik was born in 1952 and received his earliest music training as organist and pianist in his native town Oslo. He went on to study organ at the University of Music in Cologne with Michael Schneider and harpsichord with Hugo Ruf. He also studied organ privately with Marie-Claire Alain in Paris.

      From 1980 till 2016, he was professor at the University of Music and Performing Arts Stuttgart. Since 2001 he is also professor at the Norwegian Academy of Music in Oslo. He is also a visiting professor at the Royal Academy of Music, London. 

      Jon Laukvik has toured throughout Europe, Canada, Japan, Korea, Israel and the United States. He is frequently in demand to serve on competition juries and to teach seminars and masterclasses. 

      He is author of a highly successful organ tutor Historical Performance Practice in Organ Playing in three volumes, published by Carus-Verlag.

      He has edited the Handel Organ Concerti Op. 7 for Carus-Verlag (together with Werner Jacob). A complete edition of the organ works of Louis Vierne in 13 volumes (edited together with David Sanger) was published by Carus-Verlag in 2008. 

      His compositions include works for solo organ, organ with other instruments (i.e. piano, percussion, trumpet, trombone, cello, horn) as well as vocal and instrumental works.

  • Credits +
    • Front cover graphics: Sune Kliborg Lynge (Kliborg Design)
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER
      Engraving: Johan Svitzer