You cart is empty

Variation on a Relation (Version for two pianos)

Composer: Jon Laukvik

Instrument: Two Pianos

Level: Advanced

Published: 2014

Price: €24.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 9 min.

      Version for two pianos (2014)

      This set of eight variations is not based on a musical theme, as is usually the case. The basis for the composition is rather the relationship between both players and their instruments.

      Partly, the two pianists work against each other, as in variation 1, or together, as in variation 6. The humour in the relationship becomes evident in variation 2 and especially in variation 7. Light aggression appears on the other hand in variation 4; in variation 6 the aggression is clearer. Variation 3 is characterized by relaxed contentment.

      The piece was originally composed for marimba and piano and was commissioned by the “Sixth World Marimba Competition” in Stuttgart 2012. It was played in the second round of the competition. I thank Klaus Treßelt und Marta Klimasara cordially for the commission and for their affectionate help during the composing process. I also thank my publisher Johan Svitzer for his highly professional and always motivating engagement for the edition.

      (price includes two scores)

  • Instrumentation +
    • Two Pianos

  • About the composer +
    • Jon Laukvik was born in 1952 and received his earliest music training as organist and pianist in his native town Oslo. He went on to study organ at the University of Music in Cologne with Michael Schneider and harpsichord with Hugo Ruf. He also studied organ privately with Marie-Claire Alain in Paris.

      From 1980 till 2016, he was professor at the University of Music and Performing Arts Stuttgart. Since 2001 he is also professor at the Norwegian Academy of Music in Oslo. He is also a visiting professor at the Royal Academy of Music, London. 

      Jon Laukvik has toured throughout Europe, Canada, Japan, Korea, Israel and the United States. He is frequently in demand to serve on competition juries and to teach seminars and masterclasses. 

      He is author of a highly successful organ tutor Historical Performance Practice in Organ Playing in three volumes, published by Carus-Verlag.

      He has edited the Handel Organ Concerti Op. 7 for Carus-Verlag (together with Werner Jacob). A complete edition of the organ works of Louis Vierne in 13 volumes (edited together with David Sanger) was published by Carus-Verlag in 2008. 

      His compositions include works for solo organ, organ with other instruments (i.e. piano, percussion, trumpet, trombone, cello, horn) as well as vocal and instrumental works.

  • Credits +
    • Front cover graphics and layout: Sune Kliborg Lynge (Kliborg Design)
      Photo: Susanne Gräfin Adelmann (www.graefin-adelmann.com)
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER
      Engraving: Johan Svitzer