You cart is empty


Composer: Daniel Berg

Instrument: Vibraphone and Soprano

Level: Intermediate

Published: 2020

Price: €25.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 14 min.

      Music: Daniel Berg     
      Text: Emily Dickinson

      When American poet Emily Dickinson died in 1886, only a few of her poems were published. She had sent her poems to a local critic, who tried to dissuade her from publishing and considered that her poetry was too dirty and odd, and therefore only a handful of her poems were published during her lifetime. After Emily's death, her sister was responsible for the publication of the 1700 poems and has since been praised by people all over the world. Dickinson was a very original poet, glorified and like to talk in the same breath. She wrote about conventional poetic subjects such as nature, love, death and God.

      The combination of the sound from a vibraphone, together with a soprano, fits so well together. When Taiwanese-American percussionist Yun Ju Pan asked me for a piece for soprano with percussion, I suggested the vibraphone. To get as much contrast as possible in the composition, I chosen texts by Emily Dickinson with very different character for the four first movements. The fifth one is written more like a jazz ballad and some sort of reflection of the poems by Dickinson - a final poem without words.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Vibraphone and Soprano

  • About the composer +
    • Daniel Berg is a Swedish composer, musician and professor in classical percussion. He combines the role of writing music with being a versatile musician and teaches solo percussion and chamber music at the University College of Music in Gothenburg, Stockholm and Örebro in Sweden. 

      In his passion to promote the marimba as a solo- and chamber music instrument, Daniel has worked intimately with a number of composers who have written original music for the instrument. This includes more than 250 world premieres for solo and chamber works. Daniel Berg is an artist of Bergerault Marimbas and Elite Mallets. 

      As a composer Daniel has written a lot for percussion published by Edition Svitzer like his Kroumata for percussion sextet, Images for Percussion Duo and Yán Jiāng (Magma) for solo marimba - a commission from the Taiwan World Percussion Competition 2020.

  • Credits +
    • Art work (Photo): Bengt Berglund
      Front Cover: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Photo (Daniel Berg): Jon Liinason
      Engraving: CPH Engraving
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER

Related publications