You cart is empty

Three Pieces for Salon Orchestra

Composer: Jon Laukvik

Instrument: Salon Orchestra

Level: Intermediate/Advanced

Published: 2023

Price: €60.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • In the 1980s the pianist Lisbeth Ehn-Moseby suggested to me to compose pieces for a classical Viennese waltz ensemble.

      Dommayer-Polka was wrihen in 1985 for the women's salon orchestra "Wiener Walzermädchen", founded in 1984, in which Lisbeth played the piano. The orchestra performed the piece regularly for many years on the first Saturday of every month in Café Dommayer (since 2006 Alt-Wiener Kaffeehaus Oberlaa) in Hietzing in the 13th district of Vienna.

      The other two pieces were also composed in 1985 and initially performed by the "Wiener Walzermädchen". They were later performed by the bösze salonorchester founded by Cordula Bösze, which performed in a similar instrumental constellation as the "Wiener Walzermädchen". The bösze salonorchester also played contemporary music – with Lisbeth at the piano.

      While Dommayer-Polka is composed in the traditional polka style (“polka française”), Polka avec and „… nur du allein“ are affectionate comments on the great tradition of Viennese dance music. They should be performed accordingly – with humor and great rhythmic freedom.

      For ensembles that have a double bass at their disposal, there is an optional contrabass part notated on the cello staff. Its joining and pausing are indicated by +Cb. or Vc. This can be dealt with freely and pragmatically.

      My special thanks go to Thomas Schäfer, who worked lovingly on the music notation and had the splendid idea of making versions of these three pieces for piano quintet (available separately).

      Jon Laukvik
      Stuttgart, May 2023

  • Instrumentation +
    • Salon Orchestra

      Clarinet in Bb
      Violin I
      Violin II
      Violoncello (+ Contrabass ad libitum)

  • About the composer +
    • Jon Laukvik was born in 1952 and received his earliest music training as organist and pianist in his native town Oslo. He went on to study organ at the University of Music in Cologne with Michael Schneider and harpsichord with Hugo Ruf. He also studied organ privately with Marie-Claire Alain in Paris.

      From 1980 till 2016, he was professor at the University of Music and Performing Arts Stuttgart. Since 2001 he is also professor at the Norwegian Academy of Music in Oslo. He is also a visiting professor at the Royal Academy of Music, London. 

      Jon Laukvik has toured throughout Europe, Canada, Japan, Korea, Israel and the United States. He is frequently in demand to serve on competition juries and to teach seminars and masterclasses. 

      He is author of a highly successful organ tutor Historical Performance Practice in Organ Playing in three volumes, published by Carus-Verlag.

      He has edited the Handel Organ Concerti Op. 7 for Carus-Verlag (together with Werner Jacob). A complete edition of the organ works of Louis Vierne in 13 volumes (edited together with David Sanger) was published by Carus-Verlag in 2008. 

      His compositions include works for solo organ, organ with other instruments (i.e. piano, percussion, trumpet, trombone, cello, horn) as well as vocal and instrumental works.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics: Nicola Lee
      Engraving: Thomas M. J. Schäfer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER
      With support from Koda’s Cultural Funds