You cart is empty

Concerto for Trombone and Percussion

Composer: Daniel Berg

Instrument: Trombone and Percussion

Level: Advanced

Published: 2023

Price: €35.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Some years ago, I wanted to discover the flute and wrote SECOND CONCERTO for flute and percussion in five movements. Since then, the piece has been quite popular worldwide and when I was asked to write a new piece for the very talent Louise Pollock, principal trombonist with the Gothenburg Opera in Sweden, I took my chance.

      The structure of the concerto has the same as the concerto for flute. Five movements in different styles with different techniques for the solo instrument.

      1st movement has a challenging solo part with an ostinato in percussion (this time I found inspiration from American composer Gene Koshinski).

      2nd mvt is built on the favorite chord I often use in my music  (for example in KINKAKU-JI for alto flute and vibraphone).

      3rd mvt has the humor in focus – it’s a game of cat and mouse in rhythms.

      In the 4th mvt I wanted to write beautiful and sad for trombone with percussion effects.

      For me the sound of a trombone also reminds me about great brass musicians like Nils Landgren and the soul group Earth Wind and Fire and in the 5th mvt you will get some of this funky groove.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Trombone

      Percussion (2 players):

      2 Cymbals (large)
      2 Bongos
      2 Congas
      1 Marimba
      1 Vibraphone
      1 Crasch Cymbal  
      1 B.D. (or fat floor tom)
      ”Pling sound”
      5 Cowbells (or frying pans, kitchen pots etc)
      1 Dobachi
      Rain Stick
      Thunder Sheet
      Water Phone (w/ bow)

  • About the composer +
    • Daniel Berg is a Swedish composer, musician, and professor in classical percussion at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm and at the Academy of music and drama in Gothenburg.

      In his passion to promote the marimba as a solo- and chamber music instrument, Daniel has worked intimately with a number of composers who have written original music for the instrument. This includes more than 300 world premier for solo and chamber works. Daniel Berg is a marimba artist of Bergerault and Elite Mallets.

      As a composer Daniel has written a lot for solo marimba like Mistral (for Michael Burritt), Phoenix (for Robert van Sice) and Yán Jiâng (for  the Taiwan World Percussion Competition). His music for percussion ensemble have been appreciated and often performed like Kroumata (for sextet) and Arctic Nights (for quintet) - all published by Edition Svitzer.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover Design: Nicola Lee
      Artwork (photo): Bengt Berglund
      Photo (Daniel Berg): Jon Liinason
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER