You cart is empty

Second Concerto for Flute and Percussion

Composer: Daniel Berg

Instrument: Flute and Percussion

Level: Intermediate/Advanced

Published: 2019

Price: €35.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration:

      In 1939 the American Lou Harrison composed his First Concerto – a classical and fantastic work for flute and two percussion players. Influenced by this piece, Daniel Berg now wants to continue in the same atmosphere with a second concerto. The first movement is very much inspired by the groove and swinging syncopated rhythms from the concerto by Lou Harrison.

      In the four other movements Daniel Berg enters a world of different techniques for the flute like air tones, tongue pizzicato and Tongue Ram. Every moment is dedicated to a fantastic flute player Daniel worked with during the years – for example Björn J:son Lindh who was an excellent composer and a master in playing singing and percussive flute.

      For the percussion part Daniel uses traditional instruments like drums and wood blocks, but also toy electric bell, marimba, vibraphone and a tuned bottle. The Concerto is written for two percussionists, however it’s possible to be played by one player (both parts in first movement and only the marimba in the last) – just like the First Concerto for Flute and Percussion by Lou Harrison.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute

      Tamburine (1)
      Drums (3)
      Vibraphone (1)
      Marimba (1)
      Bottle tuned in Ab
      Wood blocks (5)
      Toy Electric Bell (1)
      Junk/Splash/Opera Gong (1)
      Thai Gong c1

  • Watch+
    • Performed by Liv Fridén, flute & Andrea Radi and David Westerbrand, percussion

  • About the composer +
    • Daniel Berg is a Swedish composer, musician and professor in classical percussion. He combines the role of writing music with being a versatile musician and teaches solo percussion and chamber music at the University College of Music in Gothenburg, Stockholm and Örebro in Sweden. 

      In his passion to promote the marimba as a solo- and chamber music instrument, Daniel has worked intimately with a number of composers who have written original music for the instrument. This includes more than 250 world premieres for solo and chamber works. Daniel Berg is an artist of Bergerault Marimbas and Elite Mallets. 

      As a composer Daniel has written a lot for percussion published by Edition Svitzer like his Kroumata for percussion sextet, Images for Percussion Duo and Yán Jiāng (Magma) for solo marimba - a commission from the Taiwan World Percussion Competition 2020.

  • Credits +
    • Enamel painting: Bengt Berglund
      Photo (Daniel Berg): Per Buhre
      Front Cover: Gaia Gomes
      Engraving: Daniel Berg / Johan Svitzer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER