You cart is empty

Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District

Composer: Dmitrij Sjostakovitj

Instrument: Xylophone and Piano

Level: Intermediate/Advanced

Published: 2020

Price: €20.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 4 min.
      Arranged by Laurids Madsen and Mads Drewsen

      The xylophone part from Shostakovich opera Lady MacBeth of the Mtsensk District presents a major challenge for the xylophone player, and this arrangement features some of the main parts accompanied by the piano. To create a flow in the music, we have composed musical links between the sections. The cadenza in the middle of the arrangement is composed around different motives and lines from the opera. The project was created as a teacher-student project back in 2015, with the idea to arrange a piece for xylophone and piano, suitable for both auditions and recitals.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Xylophone and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Dmitri Dmitriyevich Shostakovich was a Russian composer and pianist. He is regarded as one of the major composers of the 20th century, with a unique harmonic language and a historic importance due to his years of work under Stalin.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Engraving: CPH Engraving
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Mads Drewsen and Laurids Madsen