You cart is empty

Three Movements

Composer: Mads Drewsen

Instrument: Percussion Ensemble

Level: Intermediate/Advanced

Published: 2022

Price: €70.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 15 min.


      Three Movements is written based on the idea that students at all levels can enjoy playing together. There are challenges on many levels, but also quite simple parts. Hopefully, this will benefit percussion ensembles at music school and conservatory preparatory levels. The idea is to further one’s experience so that one can advance to harder and more difficult parts.

      Three Movements can be played by six to eight musicians. The percussion parts (the unpitched) can either be gathered together on a kind of drum set or handed out to as many musicians.

      The musical style is strongly inspired by my own background and working day as a musician in an opera orchestra. Prokofiev, Shostakovich and Ravel have a big place in my heart and has inspired me through their tonal language (mostly in the second and third movements). The melodic style is a conscious choice to give, especially the very young, a motivation to learn the pieces and enjoy playing them.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Percussion Ensemble

      Player 1: Glockenspiel & Castagnettes (3rd movement only)
      Player 2: Vibraphone (without motor)
      Player 3: Xylophone
      Player 4: Marimba (4.3 octave)*
      Player 5: 4 Timpani (G-C-D-E)
      Player 6-8: Snare Drum, Suspended Cymbal/A2 & Gran Cassa
      Player 9-11: Tamburin, Triangle & Woodblock**

      *) 1st and 2nd mvt. can be performed by either one or two players
      **) can be performed by either one or two players. If played by one player, the tambourine can be mounted on a table.

  • About the composer +
    • Born in Haderslev, Southern Jutland in 1974, Mads moved to Copenhagen in 1990 to apply for entry at the Royal Danish Academy of Music. There, he studied from 1991 to 1997 under Professor Bent Lylloff and at the same time received lessons from Søren Monrad (The Royal Danish Orchestra), Poul Leerhøj (Danish National Symphony Orchestra) and Morten Friis (Safri Duo). He also studied with Daniel Druckman in 1996, percussionist of the New York Philharmonic and teacher at the Julliard School of Music.

      Mads has always had great focus on orchestral music and chamber music. He started very early to assist in the Copenhagen Symphony Orchestras and has participated in many chamber music contexts, small and large. With larger projects, he performed in two large percussion concerts that the Royal Danish Orchestra’s Percussion Group played in 2015 and 2016 on the Big Stage at the Opera and the Old Stage at the Royal Theater. The aforementioned concert premiered Søren Monrad's Mechanics and Tobias Broström's Stellar Horizons, both of which are also written for the Royal Danish Orchestra’s Percussion Group.

      As an educator, Mads has been a part-time teacher at both the Danish National Academy of Music and the Royal Danish Academy of Music. Has also taught a number of private students.

      In 1997, Mads was permanently employed in the Royal Opera, where he has played ever since. He made a short detour to the Odense Symphony Orchestra in the 2006/2007 season.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover Design: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Photo: Henrik Bang Termansen
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER