You cart is empty


Composer: Roman Grygoriv

Instrument: Piano

Level: Advanced

Published: 2023

Price: €20.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • ...the realm of piano miniatures... My first steps into the world of music, 5 Preludes for Piano woven into a cycle of sound. Each prelude, with its own title - Pure, Grotesque, Maredinotte, Marcia Maccabre, Gioco della Verita, embodies a unique atmosphere, color, soundscape and essence. Inspired by the grandeur of 20th century piano music and enamored with the rich tonal textures of the piano, these pieces were born from youthful freedom and the captivating sounds of the old city of Stanislav...

  • Instrumentation +
    • Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Roman GRYGORIV is a Ukrainian composer known for his innovative and daring work in music theater and opera. Born in 1984 in Ivano-Frankivsk, he has achieved recognition for his compositions and artistic management in Ukraine and abroad. His groundbreaking works have been staged at prestigious venues and festivals worldwide, including Prototype Festival in New York City, Theater der Welt in Frankfurt am Main, Teatro Municipal São Paulo, Triennale Milano Teatro, Der Musikverein Wien, Sibelius Academy in Helsinki, Ars Electronica Festival in Linz, Festival Musiktheatertage Wien, La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club in New York City, and Rotterdam O. Festival, among others.

      Mr. Grygoriv began his education in double-bass performance at the Department of Musical Performance Art at Vasyl Stefanyk Precarpathian National University in Ivano-Frankivsk in 2004. He completed his master's in music composition at the National Music Academy of Ukraine in Kyiv in 2012. He continued his composition studies with a postgraduate degree under the supervision of Hanna Havrylets at the same institution. Currently, he is pursuing a postgraduate degree in media composition under Jorge Sanchez-Chiong at the University for Music and Performing Arts in Vienna.

      Together with composer and librettist Illia Razumeiko, Mr. Grygoriv has composed ten operas to date: GENESIS. Opera of memory in 13 mise-en-scene (2022), OPERA LINGUA. Music theatre in seven books (2021), CHORNOBYLDORF. Archaeological Opera in seven novels (2020), GAZ. Opera-dystopia (2019), AEROPHONIA. Futuristic opera for AN-2 airplane and Ensemble (2018), HAMLET. Dramma per musica (2018), WOZZECK. Trap-opera (2017), ARK. Opera-ballet (2017), BABYLON. Opera-circus (2016), neprOsti. All-night opera (2016), IYOV. Opera-requiem (2015).

      His work in opera and music theater has brought him critical acclaim and numerous awards. In 2021, his opera CHORNOBYLDORF was recognized as one of the Top 6 music-theatrical performances worldwide by Music Theater NOW and was named Best Experimental Performance by the Ukrainian Theatre Award "GRA." Mr. Grygoriv's opera-requiem IYOV was awarded the prestigious Shevchenko National Prize in 2020 and named among the Top 10 music-theatrical performances worldwide by Music Theater NOW in 2018.

      Mr. Grygoriv has also composed music for various films, including the mystical sci-fi drama "Chrysanthemum Day," the historical drama "The Raid," the documentary "The Winter Garden's Tale," the documentary series “Collapse," the tragicomedy “Umbrella Sky,” and the military drama "Mother of Apostles," which received the award for Best Soundtrack at the Terni and Social World Film Festivals.

      Mr. Grygoriv has extensive experience as a music festival organizer, including as co-founder of PORTO FRANKO International Festival of Modern Art (Ivano-Frankivsk, Ukraine) with composer Illia Razumeiko. In 2021, they co-founded Opera Aperta. Laboratory of Contemporary Opera in Kyiv, Ukraine.

      From 2011 to 2022, Mr. Grygoriv was music director of the National Presidential Orchestra of Ukraine. He has been a member of the National Composers’ Union of Ukraine since 2011.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover Graphics: Nicola Lee
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER