You cart is empty


Composer: Søren Monrad

Instrument: Percussion and Orchestra

Level: Advanced

Published: 2018

Price: €60.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 35 min.

      "I've been trying to compose an appealing and easily understandable piece of music ranging from strictly rhythmic structures over gentle meditative vocal sequences to powerful discharges into spectacular instrument settings. The work is characterized by my extensive knowledge of the musical instrument and the orchestra's diverse sound possibilities, as well as my lifelong background in classical music and my persistent love for jazz and fusion rock. "

      Dette projekt er bl.a. muliggjort af Musikforlæggerne med støtte fra KODA’s Kulturelle Midler.

      Søren Monrad

  • Instrumentation +
    • Concerto for percussion soloist and orchestra


      2 Flutes
      1 Piccolo Flute
      2 Oboes
      2 Clarinets in Bb
      2 Bassoons

      4 Horn in F
      3 Trumpets in Bb
      2 Trombones
      1 Bass Trombone

      2 Percussion



  • About the composer +
    • Søren Monrad was classically trained at the Royal Danish Conservatory of Music. In 1978 he became a percussionist with the Royal Danish Orchestra and in 1982 he won the chair as solo timpanist in the same orchestra. At the same time, he also held down jobs with the Collegium Musicum, Royal Danish Brass and others. Add to that a comprehensive international career as a solo percussionist, playing with among others the Royal Danish Orchestra and the Odense Symphony Orchestra.

      He has also performed on several CD’s with the above mentioned ensembles on which composers such as Bartok, Crumb, Varese, Koppel and others are represented. Since 1985 he has been a lecturer at the Carl Nielsen Academy of Music in Odense, Denmark.

  • Credits +
    • Front cover artist: Kirstine Monrad Have
      Front cover graphics and layout: Kirstine Monrad Have
      Copyright © Edition Svitzer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark