You cart is empty

Rondo in A Major

Composer: Franz Schubert

Instrument: Two Flutes and Piano

Level: Advanced

Published: 2015

Price: €25.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Arranged by Robert Stallman
      Duration: 10 min.

      Schubert composed the A Major Rondo for piano four-hands in June of 1828, only months before his death at age 32.   Like Mozart’s astounding creative burst in the final months of his brief life (The Magic Flute, La Clemenza di Tito, the last three Symphonies, the Clarinet Concerto, the Requiem), Schubert’s early death was preceded by an equally amazing spurt of compressed creative energy.  In the space of ten months, as if driven by an overpowering inner force, he composed some of his greatest music: the last three piano Sonatas, the Klavierstücken, the String Quintet in C Major, the “Great” Symphony, the Mass in Eb Major and the Schwanengesang.  The A Major Rondo was written while Schubert worked feverishly on the Eb Major Mass.  It was published by Artaria in Vienna a month after his death...

  • Instrumentation +
    • Two Flutes and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Franz Peter Schubert (31 January 1797 – 19 November 1828) was an Austrian composer. Schubert died before his 32nd birthday, but was extremely prolific during his lifetime. His output consists of over six hundred secular vocal works (mainly Lieder), seven complete symphonies, sacred music, operas, incidental music and a large body of chamber and piano music. Appreciation of his music while he was alive was limited to a relatively small circle of admirers in Vienna, but interest in his work increased significantly in the decades following his death. Felix Mendelssohn, Robert Schumann, Franz Liszt, Johannes Brahms and other 19th-century composers discovered and championed his works. Today, Schubert is ranked among the greatest composers of the late Classical and early Romantic eras and is one of the most frequently performed composers of the early nineteenth century.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Gaia Gomes
      Painter: Gustav Klimt
      Photo: Lisa Kohler
      Engraving: Ary Golomb
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER