You cart is empty

Marimba Sonata No. 1

Composer: Georgios Tsolis

Instrument: Marimba

Level: Advanced

Published: 2020

Price: €35.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: approx. 20 min.
      Commisioned by Theodor Milkov

      With support from Koda’s Cultural Funds


      In 2020, Georgios Tsolis made his debut as a composer into the world of contemporary classical music, composing his first sonata for solo marimba. Marimba Sonata No. 1 was commissioned by Theodor Milkov, one of the most innovative and prominent marimba soloist in the world. This work is the 1st part of 4 sonatas under the title “Portraits in Modern”, the result of close collaboration of Georgios and Theodor. A set of works that aim to explore the possibilities of this instrument and at the same time incorporates the composer’s influences from jazz to classical, and from traditional Greek music to free improvisation as coexistence within classical forms used for centuries by the great masters.

      Georgios attempts to create an adventurous harmonic and melodicenvironment leading to the development of his own sound and language. His idea of harmony and melody deriving from his experience in improvisation and his musical influences is premiered in this 1st sonata. “Tailored” to the extraordinary performing skills of Theodor Milkov, a carpet of virtuosic passages emerges from a surprising harmonic development, a narrative changing of characters and moments of melodic release come together to tell its own stories and at the same time pushes the possibilities of this instrument to its limits.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Marimba (5 octave)

  • Watch+
    • Performed by Theodor Milkov

  • About the composer +
    • Born and raised in Kefalonia, Ionian Islands, Greek pianist and composer Georgios Tsolis currently resides in the Hague, the Netherlands since 2004. Studied at the Royal Conservatory of the Hague where he gained his bachelor and masters in jazz piano performance. Emerging from the jazz scene as an established musician, he has been active for the last 15 years with appearances in various festivals and locations around Europe, receiving excellent reviews for his work both as a composer and performer.

      Composition has always been the key element and life companion in his musical journey. “Daring to diverge” is an expression of creativity for him. A constant quest for oneself as the key to continuous progress and development is a view of life and music is his vehicle to this quest. He composed music for solo piano, jazz trios, quartets, big band and orchestra. Lately he is debuting as a composer into the world of contemporary classical music with a series of sonatas for solo marimba and many more to come.

      As a composer, he has the tendency to experiment with the expansion of the harmonic and melodic language within traditional forms. His musical influences from jazz and improvisation, to Greek traditional music and classical, is incorporate into his music; a coexistence and guide on the way to the development of his own sound and language.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Photo: YIannis Lostopoulos
      Engraving: Ary Golomb
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER

Related publications