You cart is empty

Piazonore Orchestra Version

Composer: Alexej Gerassimez

Instrument: Vibraphone and Symphony Orchestra

Level: Advanced

Published: 2020

Price: €50.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: approx. 6 min.
      Arranged by Matthias Bucher

      Everybody knows the famous „Libertango“ by Astor Piazzolla. I was going to make an arrangement for vibraphone and piano, because I really like this powerful combination. But during the process I moved away from the primary aim and found myself improvising and restructuring the material of this piece.

      Though I drew the spirit of Piazzollas style of music with me, I escaped and stepped into a new „country".

      „Piazonore“ is the result of this adventurous process and there is no longer a clear resemblance to its original form of a „tango“.

      Alexej Gerassimez
      Munich, January 2015

  • Instrumentation +
    • Orchestra

      2 Flutes, Flute II doubling Piccolo Flute
      2 Oboes, Oboe II doubling English Horn
      2 Clarinets in Bb, Clarinet II doubling Bass Clarinet
      2 Bassoons, Bassoon II doubling Contra Bassoon

      4 Horn in F
      2 Trumpets in Bb
      2 Trombones
      Bass Trombone

      2 Percussion

      Solo Vibraphone

      Suggested string count: 6 5 4 4

  • Watch+
  • About the composer +
    • His enthusiasm for music and rhythms, always searching for new sound effects, his feeling for structure – all these qualities led the young percussion soloist Alexej Gerassimez to begin to compose. His main aim is to enlarge the solo and chamber music repertoire for percussion. He has already published several works in collaboration with the publishing company “Edition Svitzer”.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Gaia Gomes
      Engraving: Alexej Gerassimez/Johan Svitzer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER

Related publications