You cart is empty

Chamber Symphony No. 3

Composer: Yevhen Stankovych

Instrument: Flute and Orchestra

Level: Advanced

Published: 2012

Price: €30.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 18 min.

      All musical material appears as it came from a single embryo, which forms the basis of the whole Symphony, but in different stages of development. 

      All elements of the Symphony are written in modern compositional technique with themes developed from the original embryo and modal episodes appearing in contrast to them. These continuous thematic and dramatic developments are the main aspect of the composition. From a traditional point of view the chosen form is quite complicated. Although it has a clear overarching structure, it is joined with different construction techniques. The music of this Symphony contains a kind of discourse between avant-garde music and its aesthetics and has clearly shown forth a desire to find a new path in this music.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute and Orchestra

  • About the composer +
    • The Ukrainian composer Yevhen Stankovych is one of the most outstanding figures in the world of music at the end of the 20th century. The collapse of the U.S.S.R. gave him the opportunity to establish contacts with the world, resulting in recordings of his music by various companies and the performance of his works by performers in other countries, bringing him wide recognition as one of the most individualistic and eminent composers of our time.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover artist: Olga Rapay
      Front Cover graphics: Ary Golomb
      Engraving: Johan Svitzer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER