You cart is empty

The Voyage - Suite for Marimba

Composer: Astor Piazzolla / arr. Markus Leoson

Instrument: Marimba

Level: Intermediate/Advanced

Published: 2022

Price: €20.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • The Voyage - Suite for Marimba are partly collected from Piazzollas music for A Midsummer Night´s Dream. The three pieces Ouverture – El Viaje (The Voyage) – Sensuel are supposed to be played in this order, but the parts will also function excellent for themselves as separate pieces as an encore or part of a recital.

      The arrangements are quite virtuoso written and are a real challenge to learn with a lot of fast sections together with one-hand rolls in order to prolong the sound of the marimba which then comes naturally when playing these pieces in original on the piano. Playing music from Astor Piazzolla - the Master of Argentinian Tango Nuevo, are always a thrill and I believe that the marimba captures very well his fiery rhythms together with the melancholically longingly tonal touch of his music.

      I am very thankful to Johan Svitzer, without his energy and knowledge, the Voyage-Suite wouldn´t have been made possible.

      Markus Leoson

  • Instrumentation +
    • Marimba (5. Octave)

  • About the composer +
    • Astor Pantaleón Piazzolla (March 11, 1921 – July 4, 1992) was an Argentine tango composer, bandoneon player, and arranger. His oeuvre revolutionized the traditional tango into a new style termed nuevo tango, incorporating elements from jazz and classical music. A virtuoso bandoneonist, he regularly performed his own compositions with a variety of ensembles. 

      In 1992, American music critic Stephen Holden described Piazzolla as "the world's foremost composer of tango music".

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Nicola Lee
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      © Copyright by Lime Green Music Ltd.
      This arrangement © 2021 by Lime Green Music
      Reproduced by permission of Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Ltd.

Related publications