You cart is empty

Romeo and Juliet

Composer: Sergei Prokofiev

Instrument: Flute Ensemble

Level: Advanced

Published: 2019

Price: €40.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Do you know a feeling stronger than love? Do you know the story of Romeo and Juliet?

      I know nothing more powerful than love. In our Western culture, the story of Romeo and Juliet tells it so precisely, accompanied by the major themes of life: death, hatred, forgiveness...

      No wonder it has inspired artists from all fields : sculpture, choreography, painting, music, cinema…"

      Prokofiev’s music is so colourful and rhythmic, his writing so dense or pure. To me, it perfectly evokes the depth and contrasts, the intensity of this timeless and universal story.

      Given the well-known success of this music today, it is surprising to know that the ballet was rejected by the dancers (for being too difficult to dance). Finally, the composer obtains two suites (a third one will follow a few years later).

      I was inspired by the first orchestral suite Opus 64 to arrange these three delightful and famous extracts from Prokofiev's music.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute Ensemble (9)

      4 Flutes
      Alto Flute
      Bass Flute
      Contra Alto Flute
      Contrabass Flute

  • About the composer +
    • Sergei Sergeyevich Prokofiev (April 1891 – 5 March 1953) was a Russian and Soviet composer, pianist and conductor. As the creator of acknowledged masterpieces across numerous musical genres, he is regarded as one of the major composers of the 20th century. His works include such widely heard works as the March from The Love for Three Oranges, the suite Lieutenant Kijé, the ballet Romeo and Juliet – from which "Dance of the Knights" is taken – and Peter and the Wolf. Of the established forms and genres in which he worked, he created – excluding juvenilia – seven completed operas, seven symphonies, eight ballets, five piano concertos, two violin concertos, a cello concerto, and nine completed piano sonatas.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Gaia Rodriques
      Engraving: Johan Svitzer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER