You cart is empty

Piazzolla Suite

Composer: Astor Piazzolla / arr. Markus Leoson

Instrument: Marimba/Vibraphone

Level: Advanced

Published: 2020

Price: €30.00

Sorry, the item you are looking at, is not currently allowed to purchase.

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 9 min.
      Arranged by Markus Leoson

      Being a percussionist means that you constantly need to look for new repertoire for your instrument, including repertoire that isn't necessarily composed originally for percussion. This is due to our current original pieces for percussion, mainly written first from the 1930s, which in relation to other instruments is relatively late (more traditional instruments have music from at least five centuries back). It is common amongst many percussionists, for instance, to play a lot of Bach's music on marimba and vibraphone, even though these instruments were not invented in the great composers' time and life.

      The music of another composer that is difficult to “keep your hands off“ is the Argentinian tango king, Astor Piazzolla. I have transcribed three great little pieces for this Piazzolla-Collection originally composed for piano, flute (or violin) and guitar. I find these pieces suit marvellously for vibraphone and marimba. I myself have performed these pieces many times in the form of a suite (see for instance a version on YouTube). It is also possible to play these pieces individually, for example, like an encore.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Rquired Instruments:


  • Watch+
    • Markus Leoson performes Piazzolla Suite

  • About the composer +
    • Astor Pantaleón Piazzolla (March 11, 1921 – July 4, 1992) was an Argentine tango composer, bandoneon player, and arranger. His oeuvre revolutionized the traditional tango into a new style termed nuevo tango, incorporating elements from jazz and classical music. A virtuoso bandoneonist, he regularly performed his own compositions with a variety of ensembles. 

      In 1992, American music critic Stephen Holden described Piazzolla as "the world's foremost composer of tango music".

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Milonga Del Ángel, Tango Etude No. 3, Compadre
      Music by Astor Piazzolla
      © Copyright 1975 by Edizioni Curci S.r.l , Milan / A. Pagani S.r.l, Fino Mornasco (CO)/ Italy Rights for Scandinavia and Baltic States controlled by Edition Bjorlund AB