You cart is empty

Skisse Nr. II

Composer: Terje Adde

Instrument: Percussion Sextet

Level: Intermediate/Advanced

Published: 2019

Price: €40.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 10 min.

      The piece Sketches II was composed in 1991. It was performed several times in Mid-Norway but was also played at the Young people’s Music Championship in Oslo in February 1992, directed by NRK (The Norwegian Broadcasting).

      This is a competition for ensembles and soloists, and The Namsos Percussion Ensemble won the 1st prize in the ensemble category. After winning there, the ensemble was invited to the ISME (International Society for Music Education) conference Tampa, USA, to perform Norwegian music there. They also performed at the opening of the Norwegian Festival of Music that same year.

      After that, the piece remained with its composer for several years, without it being performed again. In 2019 Terje Adde contacted Thomas Aanonlie to get it digitalized and edited. Aanonlie revised the voices and the score, and in cooperation with the composer, rewrote the piece to a sextet.

      It is a great pleasure to be able to present the piece in its edited version, in a new layout and published at Edition Svitzer.

      I deeply thank Johan Svitzer and the composer Terje Adde.

      Denne utgivelsen ble muliggjort gjennom støtte fra Norsk Komponistforening.

      Sandane / Namsos nov. 2019

  • Instrumentation +
    • Player I:
      Wind Chimes
      Susp. Cymbal
      Wood Block

      Player II:
      Susp. Cymbal
      Gran Cassa (small)

      Player III:
      4 Log Drums

      Player IV:
      Congas (optional 2 bongos)
      4 Log Drums

      Player V:
      Vibraphone (with motor)

      Player VI:
      3 Timpani
      4 Tom-Toms
      Gran Cassa (big)
      Temple Blocks
      Susp. Cymbal

  • About the composer +
    • In his youth, Terje played in a string of bands, now the most famous being Mads Inc., including among others Åge Aleksandersen. From 1970 he was a student and a musician in Oslo where he played with jazz musicians like Radka Toneff, Jon Balke, Jon Eberson and NRK’s Youth Symphony Orchestra. He was educated as a classic percussionist / teacher at Veitvet Academy of Music (later Norwegian Academy of Music). He has worked as a teacher of music, conductor, composer, arranger and performer, including at Concerts in Schools, Norway. From 1973 to 1977 Terje was a music teacher and conductor in his home town, Namsos, when he entered his family’s business. He worked especially with the music section and ran a private school of music while he also taught at primary and secondary school, in addition to conducting and touring with Concerts in Schools, Norway. From 1984 he was hired as the first principal at Namsos Municipality School of Music, which was to become the first cultural school in Norway, which the municipality also received a national award for, as the first in its kind in Norway. In 1990, Terje received the Namsos Municipality’s Cultural Award for his “good service for music and skills as a composer”. In 2019 he received the award of Wood of Fame, as an honor from the Woodland Festival.

  • Reviews +
    • Review (Percussive Notes, June 2020)

      ”Skisse Nr. II” (Norwegian for “Sketch No. 2”) is a new percussion sextet by Norse composer/conductor Terje Adde, which was originally scored for percussion ensemble in 1991. This version was expanded to a percussion sextet with the assistance of Thomas Aanonlie in 2019. This piece is arranged in eight sections delineated by tempi changes (with a few mallet cadenzas). The mallet parts are mostly tonal with liberal use of ostinati and unison passages. There are some rapidly changing meters starting at bar 55 with a variety of meters used throughout. “Skisse Nr. II” is a musically expressive piece with liberal use of dynamics, articulations, and tempi throughout. Aanonlie’s and Adde’s adept percussion orchestration keeps the timbres continuously varied between mallets, drums, woods, and metals.

      The score has an extensive bio on composer Adde with a little history on the piece. With a conductor, this sextet should be well within the range of most intermediate percussion ensembles at programs that can provide the large setup of standard instrumentation.

      —N. Scott Robinsonhttps

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Gaia Gomes
      Photo: Bjørn Tore Ness
      Translation: Maria Susanne Svenfelt
      Engraving: Thomas Aanonlie/Johan Svitzer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER

Related publications