You cart is empty


Composer: Daniel Berg

Instrument: Violin, Clarinet and Marimba

Level: Advanced

Published: 2023

Price: €28.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Many years ago, I wrote a piece called KNOCK ON WOOD for clarinet (or violin) and marimba where I was inspired by National Romanticism like music from Wilhelm Stenhammar and Johannes Brahms. The harmonies I choose breathe perhaps a more French expression than national romanticism? Jazz dyeing’s in the chords shines most clearly in the middle of the piece where the marimba blossoms out into a dance. But certainly, it sounds national romanticism ...knock on wood...

      I’ve been asked many times to write something similar as KNOCK ON WOOD and finally I got the idea! Together with clarinet player Karin Dormbusch and violin player Tobias Granmo I formed the chamber music festival FRONTSIDE some years ago. As a trio, we were asked for touring in the countryside with a mission to find new listeners for classical music.  For that tour I got the idea for a piece with strong energy, romantic harmonies and the joy of playing chamber music - a FRONTSIDE for violin, clarinet, and marimba!

  • Instrumentation +
    • Violin

  • About the composer +
    • Daniel Berg is a Swedish composer, musician and professor in classical percussion. He combines the role of writing music with being a versatile musician and teaches solo percussion and chamber music at the University College of Music in Gothenburg, Stockholm and Örebro in Sweden. 

      In his passion to promote the marimba as a solo- and chamber music instrument, Daniel has worked intimately with a number of composers who have written original music for the instrument. This includes more than 250 world premieres for solo and chamber works. Daniel Berg is an artist of Bergerault Marimbas and Elite Mallets. 

      As a composer Daniel has written a lot for percussion published by Edition Svitzer like his Kroumata for percussion sextet, Images for Percussion Duo and Yán Jiāng (Magma) for solo marimba - a commission from the Taiwan World Percussion Competition 2020.

  • Credits +
    • Artwork (photo): Bengt Berglund
      Photo (Daniel Berg): Jon Liinason
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER