You cart is empty

Sonatina No. 2, opus 21

Composer: Asger Lund Christiansen

Instrument: Flute and Piano

Level: Advanced

Published: 2015

Price: €20.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 10 min.

      Asger Lund Christiansen: 2. Sonatina for Soprano Recorder & Harpsichord (Piano), opus 21 (1988).

      Asger Lund Christiansen (1927-1998) wrote a number of works for the distinguished recorder virtuoso Michala Petri, a list which includes 2 Trios (recorder, cello, harpsichord, opus 12 & Recorder, Bassoon, Harpsichord, opus 33), “Garden Party” for recorder(s) & guitar, opus 37, Nine Preludes for recorder(s) & String Quartet, opus 36 and “Danse-Suite” (5 Dances) for Recorder & String Orchestra, opus 29.

      1. Sonatina for Soprano Recorder and Harpsichord, opus 15, was composed in 1985 and dedicated to Michala Petri and Hanne Petri. 2. Sonatina, opus 21, written for the same instruments, carries the same dedication and was first performed in 1988. The 2. Sonatina obtained immediately success. This inspired ALC to make other versions of the entire piece, and it turned out to be alternative arrangements for: Soprano Recorder & Guitar (opus 21B) Cello & Guitar (opus 21C) and one more for Cello & Piano (opus 21D). This was the only time the composer worked out more than two versions of the same music.

      Studying the original score for opus 21, one observes, that the composer supports almost every bar with different dynamics, including crescendos and diminuendos, not only in the flute part, but also and separately in the harpsichord part! This fact combined with my father’s remarks on the subject allows performers to play the 2. Sonatina on the instruments Soprano Recorder & Piano or even Piccolo Flute & Piano.

      This project was supported financially by DMFF through KODA’s Funds for cultural and social purposes.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Asger Lund Christiansen (1927–1998) was a Danish cellist and composer.

      He trained at the Royal Danish Academy of Music, graduating in 1946. Alongside Bløndal Erling Bengtsson, he was his generation's most recognized Danish cellist. In 1957-1995 he played with musicians such as Tutter Givskov, Mogens Ludolph and Mogens Bruun in Copenhagen and also as a soloist, teacher and organizer, he has had a major influence. From 1965-1987, he was a teacher and later professor at the Royal Danish Academy of Music. 

      Asger Lund Christiansen wrote a significant number of compositions. He has written chamber music, instrumental music and orchestral works in a mostly neo-classical style. One of his flute sonatas was premiered by Jean-Pierre Rampal.His son is the flautist and composer Toke Lund Christiansen.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Johan Söderholm
      English translation: Toke Lund Christiansen
      Editor: Toke Lund Christiansen
      Engraving: CPH Engraving
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER