You cart is empty

Sonatina No. 1, opus 15

Composer: Asger Lund Christiansen

Instrument: Flute and Piano

Level: Advanced

Published: 2015

Price: €20.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 10 min.

      Asger Lund Christiansen: 1. Sonatina for Soprano Recorder & Harpsichord (Piano), opus 15 (1985).

      Asger Lund Christiansen (1927-1998) wrote a number of works for the distinguished recorder virtuoso Michala Petri, a list which includes 2 Trios (recorder, cello, harpsichord, opus 12 & Recorder, Bassoon, Harpsichord, opus 33), “Garden Party” for recorder(s) & guitar, opus 37, Nine Preludes for recorder(s) & String Quartet, opus 36 and “Danse-Suite” (5 Dances) for Recorder & String Orchestra, opus 29.

      1. Sonatina for Soprano Recorder and harpsichord is dedicated to Michala Petri and Hanne Petri, composed during the Christmas time of 1984 and finished January, 1985. The piece consists of four movements in the structure fast-slow-fast-more fast (Gigue). The 2. Movement, Lento improvisando introduces in form of a cadenza a Danish folk melody, Ebbe Skammelsen. In 1971-1972 ALC worked out and published (Edition WH) Piano arrangements in 3 Volumes of Danish folk melodies, and Ebbe Skammelsen is one of them. Since then this treasure of melodies apparently appeared also in my father’s chamber music works.

      It is notable, that ALC wrote “Sonatina for Soprano Recorder & Harpsichord or Piano”. It was in fact ALC’s intention, that in all his works which includes a Harpsichord part, this part can be played at the piano instead. Toke Lund Christiansen, August 2014.

      This project was supported financially by DMFF through KODA’s Funds for cultural and social purposes.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Asger Lund Christiansen (1927–1998) was a Danish cellist and composer.

      He trained at the Royal Danish Academy of Music, graduating in 1946. Alongside Bløndal Erling Bengtsson, he was his generation's most recognized Danish cellist. In 1957-1995 he played with musicians such as Tutter Givskov, Mogens Ludolph and Mogens Bruun in Copenhagen and also as a soloist, teacher and organizer, he has had a major influence. From 1965-1987, he was a teacher and later professor at the Royal Danish Academy of Music. 

      Asger Lund Christiansen wrote a significant number of compositions. He has written chamber music, instrumental music and orchestral works in a mostly neo-classical style. One of his flute sonatas was premiered by Jean-Pierre Rampal.His son is the flautist and composer Toke Lund Christiansen.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Johan Söderholm
      English translation: Toke Lund Christiansen
      Editor: Toke Lund Christiansen
      Engraving: CPH Engraving
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER