You cart is empty

Khovanschchina - Dance of the Persian Slaves

Composer: Modest Mussorgsky

Instrument: Flute and Piano

Level: Advanced

Published: 2014

Price: €22.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Arranged by Vladimir Tsybin
      Duration: 7 min.

      ... This edition brings Tsybin’s transcription of a dance from one of the most beautiful operas „Khovanschchina“ by Modest Mussorgsky. 

      Mussorgsky was himself responsible for the libretto, which was inspired by the revolutions in Moscow 1682 as well as those in 1689 and 1698.    

      About this transcription the Russian musicologist Andrey Alpatov explaines: "In 1936-1941 and 1944-1948 Tsybin combined pedagogical work in conservatory with work in department of Instruments of Military Bands of Military Conductor's Faculty of the Moscow Conservatory which those years was called "High school of military conductors of the Soviet Army". During this period Tsybin wrote an arrangement for flute and piano of ballet scene from opera "Khovanshchina" by Mussorgsky - "Dance of the Persian Slaves" (Act 4, Scene 3)."

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky (21 March [O.S. 9 March] 1839 – 28 March [O.S. 16 March] 1881) was a Russian composer, one of the group known as "The Five". He was an innovator of Russian music in the romantic period. He strove to achieve a uniquely Russian musical identity, often in deliberate defiance of the established conventions of Western music. 

      Many of his works were inspired by Russian history, Russian folklore, and other nationalist themes. Such works include the opera Boris Godunov, the orchestral tone poem Night on Bald Mountain and the piano suite Pictures at an Exhibition. 

      For many years Mussorgsky's works were mainly known in versions revised or completed by other composers. Many of his most important compositions have posthumously come into their own in their original forms, and some of the original scores are now also available.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Gaia Rodrigues
      Forword: Pierre-Yves Artaud
      Engraving: CPH Engraving
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER

Related publications