You cart is empty

Grand Trio Concertant pour deux Flûtes et Piano

Composer: Friedrich Kuhlau

Instrument: Two Flutes and Piano

Level: Advanced

Published: 2021

Price: €30.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Edited by András Adorján
      Duration: 18 min.

      The „Grand Trio Concertant pour deux Flûtes et Piano“, opus 119, written in 1831, is the last piece for flute by the Danish national composer Friedrich Kuhlau.

  • Instrumentation +
    • For 2 Flutes and Piano
      also Flute, Violin and Piano or Flute, Cello and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Friedrich Daniel Rudolf Kuhlau (11 September 1786 – 12 March 1832) was a German-born Danish composer during the Classical and Romantic periods. He was a central figure of the Danish Golden Age and is immortalized in Danish cultural history through his music for Elves' Hill, the first true work of Danish National Romanticism and a concealed tribute to the absolute monarchy. To this day it is his version of this melody which is the definitive arrangement. 

      During his lifetime, Kuhlau was known primarily as a concert pianist and composer of Danish opera, but was responsible for introducing many of Beethoven's works, which he greatly admired, to Copenhagen audiences. Considering that his house burned down destroying all of his unpublished manuscripts, he was a prolific composer leaving more than 200 published works in most genres.