You cart is empty

Concertino, opus 1

Composer: Asger Lund Christiansen

Instrument: Trombone and Orchestra

Level: Advanced

Published: 2015

Price: €60.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 15 min.

      Asger Lund Christiansen (1927-1998) wrote his Concertino for trombone and orchestra, opus 1 in 1958. The Concertino is the first (and lightest) of ALC’s solo concertos, followed by the bassoon concerto, opus 6 (1969), the tuba concerto, opus 14 (1985) and finally, Suite for recorder and string orchestra, opus 29 (1991). The composer was, in his younger years, a member of the cello section in the Tivoli Symphony Orchestra. The repertoire was in those days most concerned around H.C. Lumbye and his Vienna inspired music, but gave also opportunities for a young composer, who had ambition of writing in full symphonic scale. ALC conducted the orchestra in the late night Proms, and he composed several entertaining orchestra pieces in his own “Tivoli style”. The Tivoli trombone section was in those days lead by a solo trombone player with international fame: Palmer Traulsen, who also played in the Royal Theatre (Det Kongelige Kapel).

      The Concertino (original: Tivoli-concertino) is written for this distinguished player, and I remember, from the first performance in 1959, that the enthusiastic public in the brand new Tivoli concert hall thought, that the most virtuoso cadenza was from the hand of Traulsen, but no… every single note was planned by the composer. The piano reduction of the Concertino was also made by the composer.

      Now, the concertino is, for the first time, in print, and it is my hope and believe, that it will find its way to the exclusive trombone repertoire.

      This project was supported financially by DMFF through KODA’s Funds for cultural and social purposes.

      Toke Lund Christiansen, December 2014.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Trombone and Orchestra

  • Watch+
  • About the composer +
    • Asger Lund Christiansen (1927–1998) was a Danish cellist and composer.

      He trained at the Royal Danish Academy of Music, graduating in 1946. Alongside Bløndal Erling Bengtsson, he was his generation's most recognized Danish cellist. In 1957-1995 he played with musicians such as Tutter Givskov, Mogens Ludolph and Mogens Bruun in Copenhagen and also as a soloist, teacher and organizer, he has had a major influence. From 1965-1987, he was a teacher and later professor at the Royal Danish Academy of Music. 

      Asger Lund Christiansen wrote a significant number of compositions. He has written chamber music, instrumental music and orchestral works in a mostly neo-classical style. One of his flute sonatas was premiered by Jean-Pierre Rampal.His son is the flautist and composer Toke Lund Christiansen.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Gaia Rodrigues
      English translation: Toke Lund Christiansen
      Editor: Toke Lund Christiansen
      Engraving: Ary Golomb
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER

Related publications